Love Is In Your iTunes Library

Well, Valentine’s Day is almost here. Love is in the air, and love songs are playing on the radio, and on my iPad. Most of us can think of particular songs we associate with the love relationships of our lives. I experience my first heartbreak again and again whenever I hear “Angie” by the Rolling Stones. Adam Ant’s “Wonderful” played on the radio when I was getting ready for my wedding, and it’s been our song ever since. Everclear’s “Learning How To Smile” reminds me of dear friends. Songs have power, as do all forms of poetry, and in honour of this special day (even if Hallmark was behind it), here’s my playlist:

Band On The RunMaybe I’m Amazed” by Paul McCartney & Wings
Baby I’m amazed at the way you love me all the time
Maybe I’m afraid of the way I love you
Baby I’m amazed at the way you pulled me out of time, hung me on a line
Maybe I’m amazed at the way I really need you

Released in 1970, this song has been dear to my heart since I first heard it in 1986. Written by Paul MacCartney, this song is dedicated to his wife, Linda, who helped him get through the break-up of the Beatles. But sadly, there’s no lentil soup recipe to be found when you play it backwards.

21Someone Like You” by Adele
Nothing compares, no worries or cares
Regrets and mistakes, they’re memories made
Who would have known how bittersweet this would taste?

Love is wonderful, but sometimes it hurts, as this song so clearly shows us. “Someone Like You” is 21’s album closer and it summarizes the now defunct relationship that the record is all about. As Adele told MTV in 2011, “Well, I wrote that song because I was exhausted from being such a b*tch, with ‘Rolling in the Deep’ or ‘Rumor Has It,'” she laughs. “I was really emotionally drained from the way I was portraying him, because even though I’m very bitter and regret some parts of it, he’s still the most important person that’s ever been in my life, and ‘Someone Like You,’ I had to write it to feel OK with myself and OK with the two years I spent with him. And when I did it, I felt so freed.” And we’re so glad you did.

BabelI Will Wait” by Mumford & Sons
Well I came home
Like a stone
And I fell heavy into your arms
These days of dust
Which we’ve known
Will blow away with this new sun

This is Mumford & Sons most successful song to date, a fact that shouldn’t come as a surprise to anyone. As Billboard.com stated, “It’s hard not to bow to the craftsmanship behind this single.”

Kaleidoscope DreamAdorn” by Miguel
Let my love adorn you baby
Don’t you ever
Don’t you let nobody tell you different baby
I’ll always adore you

“Adorn” was released on August 7, 2012. It peaked at number 17 on the Billboard Hot 100 and number 1 on the Hot R&B/Hip-Hop Songs chart, becoming Miguel’s most successful single to date, as well as his third number 1 on the R&B/Hip-Hop chart. Miguel was inspired to write the song by his girlfriend, model and artist Nazanin Mandi, and said in an interview with People magazine: “I had been on a long trip and was anxious to see her. That’s where the song began, with that emotion while I was on the plane. I don’t remember how I got from ‘These lips can’t wait to taste your skin’ to the end of the song, but when I listened to it, I thought, ‘This is special.'”

Essential Cyndi LauperTime After Time” by Cyndi Lauper
If you’re lost you can look and you will find me
Time after time
If you fall I will catch you I’ll be waiting
Time after time

“Time After Time” was Cyndi Lauper’s second single from her album She’s So Unusual, back in 1984, and was nominated for Song of the Year at the 1985 Grammy Awards. So many other bands and singers have covered this song, including Ronan Keating, Sarah McLachlan, Willie Nelson, and Boyz II Men, to name just a few. But IMHO, no one does it better than Ms Lauper.

Our Version Of EventsMy Kind of Love” by Emeli Sandé
‘Cause when you’ve given up
When no matter what you do it’s never good enough
When you never thought that it could ever get this tough
That’s when you feel my kind of love

The fourth single released from Ms Sandé’s debut album, Our Version of Events, “My Kind of Love” was inspired by the patients Sandé met while studying medicine in Glasgow. As she told Digital Spy, “During my time studying medicine, I found it hard to write, but one of the things that inspired me were the patients and the interaction that they had with their loved ones during their time of illness… This interaction, declaration of support and love, was the inspiration for ‘My Kind Of Love.'”

+Kiss Me” by Ed Sheeran
And your heart’s against my chest, your lips pressed to my neck
I’m falling for your eyes, but they don’t know me yet
And with a feeling I’ll forget, I’m in love now

I have to admit, the only reason I’m going to Taylor Swift’s concert this summer is to see my ginger boy, Ed Sheeran. I know it’s not popular with the critics, having been called mawkish  and a “bottom-of-a-Tube-escalator ballad,” but I just love the song. Really, that’s all that matters, right?

Best DayFirst Love” by Dala
And you were my first love
I thought it would last love
But I sure had a blast
In my fifteenth, fifteenth year

Ah, young love. We all remember it, some of us with more bitterness than others (I’m looking at you AB). Kudos to this Canadian duo for helping us to remember just how lovely and warm it made us feel.

Turn On The LightsWhat I Meant To Say” by Daniel Powter
I told you I would be okay
I said I won’t stand in your way
But I should have said I love you
I just want you to stay
But that’s what I meant to say

Canadian Daniel Powter covers Wade Hayes’ 1995 single in glorious style. The song deals with a familiar theme: the narrator realizes that he hurt his lover when he said he could walk out on her and regrets it deeply; what he really meant to do was  apologize and to tell her that he loves her. Tsk tsk tsk…

UnoStay The Night” by Green Day
I got to know if you’re the one that got away
Even though it was never meant to be

Not your typical love song, this song from their 2012 album ¡Uno! is just simple, good, and straightforward. He doesn’t have much time and he’ll get to the point: do you just want to get out of this joint? A thousand fans scream out, “YES!”

— Barbara

Leave a Reply

