Seasonal Reading in 2024!

Every year in January, I reflect on my reading year; what I enjoyed, what I didn’t, and what I would like to change going forward. I usually let my holds list dictate what I read, going along with whatever becomes available first, but I would like to be more intentional with my book selections in 2024.

I was listening to an episode of the What Should I Read Next podcast called “Super-seasonal reading, all year long” and was reminded of the few times my reading matched up with the seasons in 2023 and how much I enjoyed that immersive experience. I’ve decided to practice more seasonal reading for 2024, choosing one book a month to match the mood of the season.

In January, I will be reading Oona Out of Order by Margarita Montimore. This book begins on New Year’s Eve in 1982. Oona will be turning 19 years old at midnight and has her whole life ahead of her. However, at the stroke of midnight, she finds herself 33 years in the future and learns that each year she will leap to another age at random.

February feels like romance and coziness to me, so I’ve chosen The No-Show by Beth O’Leary. In this intricately plotted novel, three women who have nothing in common find out that they’re involved with the same man. I absolutely loved her 2019 novel, The Flatshare, and I’m excited to read more of her work.

My March pick is The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett. In this classic novel, ten-year-old Mary Lennox moves to the Yorkshire moors to live with her uncle following her parents’ deaths and finds a very special hidden garden. I’ve seen the film released in 1993, but haven’t read the book. Even though March is still very much winter in Winnipeg, I’m going to enjoy reading about a garden blossoming!

If you would like to join in on the seasonal reading fun, more inspiration and recommendations can be found at the following links:

I’ll be providing updates as the year goes on. Happy reading!

– Amber

One response to “Seasonal Reading in 2024!

  1. Yay for Seasonal Reading! And thanks for sharing my post!

Leave a comment